Day 2: An appreciation for inspiration

achtorjah_mountain_by_ferdinandladera-d6ypsbl

Over the last couple of days, I have been mulling over the idea of starting something new. Perhaps, the idea of a fresh start or new beginnings is an appealing avenue to journey down especially when you don’t particularly like where you ended up in your previous endeavors.

But you know, starting something new is a serious commitment and often times, we grasp for more than what we can hold. And when it all comes down, we get discouraged without realizing where we went wrong. I know this little known truth a little too well.

The idea of blogging came to me about two years ago when I was reading a couple of blogs about games and anime. It was exciting to dive into their thoughts and emotions about shows and games they had watched and played. They provided a fresh new insight on things on angles that I hadn’t thought of and the community around them supported them in kind with constructive criticism and feedback between lines of their conversations and debates. Hell, I found myself apart of that circle, commenting when I could and offering my two cents to the fray.

But when I decided to sit down and actually start blogging, I realize that it wasn’t that easy. It was a commitment that I wasn’t quite ready for. And I can remember standing in front of my desk as if it was a vast mountain landscape of uncharted beauty and wonder. The idea was appealing to chart this land. To take that new journey into a frontier I knew nothing about. But I had already had preconceptions of what I wanted. (Or I thought I did.) Therefore, when I made my first step, wasn’t able to see all of the little things happening around me.

I got scared when people didn’t read. I got scared that I didn’t know what to write. I would put it off when something else came up or generally when I didn’t think I had anything worth saying. And soon… it was just forgotten.

I did this twice.

But last night while surfing through the blogs during the early morning hours because the sleeping fairy (Yes, the sleeping fairy) missed me again, I stumbled upon a collective of young folks around the astonishing age of twenty-four with the same concerns about life that I had. They felt lost. Like their life so far had no purpose when they reflected on the years. Like they were standing in the middle of a hallway with two doors, peeking into the door of uncharted land without completely going forward and admiring the beauties of the past where your dreams were able to form. Those endless possibilities of all the things you wanted to do that were shown to you in intricate slides weighted with all the nostalgia of a cherished memory.

I wanted to be author. I wanted to be a journalist. I wanted to inspire those around me to aspire for more! I love writing. I feel at peace when I jot my thoughts down whether it be in the form of compelling tale or simply like this and for too long, I had be neglecting this passion because I was scared of failing.

But they were stepping out. Taking that leap of faith. From the blogs that I have commented on lately to the videos I have watched, they were making big changes on the same principles that I had made mine. And it was refreshing to know that I wasn’t alone.

So for all those out there who are embarking on a new journey, regardless of what it is. I wish you the best of luck and remember, if you ever find yourself swaying from the path… that you aren’t alone. Look around you, there others embarking too and if you can’t make by yourself…

We can always walk together. I’m pretty sure, our journey will be a lot more fun with company.

(The video that sparked this idea.)

Leave a Reply

